Update on Ella

Hi everyone, I wanted to get away from the vastness of Facebook, and use something a little more personal….well, as personal as you can get on the internet. This way I don’t mind posting pictures of Ella as she makes her recovery.  Our blog name “Wings of Redemption”, will be explained in a later post, but this will be our blog to keep in touch with us as we enter this next phase of life.

Ella is doing well.  Her breathing tube came out yesterday (I’m sure there’s a more official name for it) which is a big milestone.  Upon the tube coming out, her trachea became really tight, resulting in her wheezing and struggling for breath.  It wasn’t nice to hear, and Jillian was certainly stronger than I was.  Thankfully she received a steroid which relaxed her air way, and 4-6 hours later, her breathing was much better.  She still has oxygen going to her nose, but it’s really just to help her.  She had most of her lines removed today, and is really down to an IV to help her eat.  She drank just a little bit of milk this morning, but is still extremely tired.  I haven’t been able to get her to crack a smile yet, and you can just tell by looking in her eyes that the surgery took a lot out of her.

She still has quite a bit of fluid built up in her lungs, and will therefore remain in the ICU until Monday, receiving physiotherapy to help loosen it up.  I can honestly say, I’m in no rush to leave.  The nursing care has been incredible and we feel so blessed to live in a time and place such as this…there are many in the world without access to even basic health care. 

For those of you praying alongside of us, and there are many (thank you), I have a couple quick prayer requests.  First, that the fluid in her lung dissipates as she moves and breathes more.  Please pray against any infection.  Secondly, please pray that she would start eating well and get her strength back.  Lastly, as a father, I’d love to see her smile soon, so please pray for her spirit to be filled with joy once again.

Jillian and I have felt God’s presence and clung to His precious promises through this entire time.  And it’s hard to describe the increased love we have both for Him and for Ella, having all walked through this together.

Thank you again for praying, you prayers are being answered everyday.

With love,

Stephen

“The eyes of the LORD are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their cry”  Psalm 34:15 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Update on Ella

  1. Praying for your sweet daughter and your precious family. Love to each of you.

  2. Julie Stow says:

    Hi Stephen and Jillan,
    I am so happy to read that little Ella is doing well. I shall pray for a quick recovery. Give her my love and the same to Issac. I’m sure it has been tough for him as well. Stay strong and know your families are there with you. All the best. Love, Julie

  3. Debbie Boutilier says:

    Dear Stephen & Jillian
    So glad to hear Ella is improving….You are in my daily thoughts & prayers…I have faith and know Ella will be ok,soon I`m sure she will be smiling at Mommy,Daddy & Isaac.Take care of each other……………Debbie

  4. Amanda L says:

    Thanks for keeping us updated. I’ve been anxious to hear how things went, and I’m glad to hear that Ella has started on the road to recovery! You’re in my thoughts & prayers.

  5. scottkohler says:

    Hey guys, thanks for the update, she has been on my mind constantly since the surgery and I’ve been lifting her name before the Lord as well as your names as I cannot imagine how hard of a time this must be as loving parents. Hang in there. Many people are joining with you in spirit, love and prayers, and we are some of them.
    “Therefore if there is any encouragement from being united with Christ, if there is any comfort from His love, if any fellowship of the Spirit, and affection and compassion, make my joy complete by being of the same mind, maintaining the same love, united in spirit, intent on one purpose.
    Phil 2:1-2
    In Him always, and with you in spirit on this journey, dee and family>

  6. Janna Fox says:

    so thankful for this way to stay connected… and still keeping you guys in prayer. psalm 34 (in its entirety) is one that i go back to again and again. rejoicing with you in God’s promises today. love janna

  7. Joshua Wong says:

    Thank you for the update and pictures. There is quite the contrast between the two pictures and she definitely looks better in the 2nd picture! My heart goes out to you guys and will certainly continue to pray for Ella’s recovery, especially the fluid in her lungs.

  8. Johanne Lavergne says:

    Dear Stephen and Jillian,
    I pray the continuing God’s help and the renewing of your strength and for sweet Ella.
    It is His Spirit who gives life and we will continue to pray the Word of God, His Truth, over Ella.
    I take your prayer requests to the Lord and know that you are both held in the Hope that we have in Jesus-Christ. Continue to be of good courage as Ella has been so good and so strong.
    ” Fear not, for I am with you;
    Be not dismay, for I am your God.
    I will strengthen you,
    Yes, I will help you,
    I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” Isa.41:10
    You will have Ella smile very soon to you as she is under a banner of Love from above and from the love and prayers from all your brothers and sisters in Christ

  9. Christine Walsh says:

    Hi Stephen

    I’m don’t know if you’d remember me or not, but I went to school with Jill and have met you at a couple of weddings. Anyhow, my friend Sarah Marsh, told me about Ella and I just wanted to say “hi” and let you know my husband, Matt, and I are thinking and praying of you all in this tough/blessed time.

    Almost 6 years ago now, our second son, Joseph, was born with Transposition of the great arteries, and had 8 hours of open-heart surgery, at 10 days old, by Camille Hancock-Friesen at the IWK. We spent almost 3 weeks at the PICU – which was such a blessing, those nurses, doctors and respiratory therapists are incredible in too many ways to count! You are right, we are blessed to live in a time and place as this.

    Ella is a beautiful girl and we congratulate you on her birth and assure you of our prayers on this journey with her. May God continue to bless you!

    Christine

    This verse was especially “real” to me during those IWK days…

    “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3: 5-6

  10. Doug , Susan and Julia says:

    Dear Stephen and Jillian:
    We are so thankful each time we receive encouraging updates on Ella. Its amazing how God let you know through a christian physician that He is right there with you through all of this.We will continue to pray for Ella’s complete recovery and strength for both of you during this time.xoxo

  11. Rhonda Fralic says:

    We serve an awesome God! “All things are possible through Christ! He has pulled us from the mirey clay and set our feet upon a solid rock. He is able to do exceedingly and abundantly more than we can ask or imagine. Eyes cannot see, ears cannot hear, the things he has put into the hearts of those who serve HIM. HE is our strength when we are weak….Praise His Holy Name!!!! I will bless the Lord at all times and give thanks to HIM in all things. Pslam 100 His word says that we are blessed in the city and blessed in the field, the fruit of our bodies is blessed (that’s Ella), we are blessed coming in and blessed going out (Duet 28)…may the Lord continue to bless you and keep you, may HE watch over you and may HIS face shine upon you….Numbers 6 vs (24-27)Those who wait upon the Lord will rise up on eagles wings…Hallelujha!!!!
    Lord, I thank you for all you have already done and all you are doing in the lives of Ella and her family. I thank you that you have knit her together in her mothers womb and that you have her in the palm of your hand. I thank you that you are able to do exceedingly and abundantly more than we can ask or imagine and that you know the plans you have already set out for Ella’s life. I thank you for the testimony that will come forth from this Lord and I thank you that in these times, we are totally dependant on you and our faith becomes more solid than ever. Lord, I thank you that you are our strength and for your peace that passes all understanding. I thank you for healing Ella and that your hand is upon her and I thank you that you allow us to join you in the throne room to intercede or this family; however, that you will recieve all the glory, all the honor and all the priase for what you have done…Hallelujha!!! WE bring all these things to you in Jesus most precious name. Amen!!!

  12. Jennifer Brewer says:

    Hi Stephen….
    Jillian, I have never met you but have heard only wonderful things about you when Stephen and I were on an African mission trip. Oh what journey, he is bringing you both down and also for those you hold dear. I teared looking at little Ella and reading her story. What a sweet precious babe. I think of how hard and faith testing and strengthening this walk must be for you as I look at my own kids who are the very same ages as yours. My family will keep baby Ella in our parayers; so thankful you have seen prayers answered already!
    And to hear you are now flying to Alberta- wow! What an exciting time this is as you walk out into the unknown. I love this blog that allows friends (old and new 🙂 ) to share in your excitement and challenges as you tackle this new prospect ahead!…If you are ever in Ontario….instead of just flying over it :)….there are several Ryerson alumni that would LOVE a visit!. Josh, Jeff, Rebecca and I get together every few months….and actually Elizabeth joined us in the Fall as well.
    He is Faithful. He loves you and holds you in His Almighty Palm. Psalm 46: 10 Be still and Know that I am God.
    Jenn & family

Leave a Reply

